The Anglican Church of Canada has four main levels of governance. Across Canada there are approximately 1,700 individual churches or parishes, which are organized into 30 different dioceses, each led by a bishop. The national church office is known as General Synod.

The Primate, Archbishop Linda Nicholls, is our national pastoral leader and works from the General Synod office in Toronto, Ont. The national office is divided into departments, and their work is guided by volunteer Anglicans through committees and councils. The Primate is Chief Executive Officer of General Synod.

General Synod is also the name for the national meeting of Canadian Anglicans, held every three years. Between these meetings the national church is governed by a smaller Council of General Synod that meets twice a year.

The Anglican Church of Canada works and talks with many other churches through ecumenical dialogue or joint programs. We have a unique full-communion relationship with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada.