New members appointed to FMD committee

Dean Peter Elliott, Prolocutor of General Synod, is pleased to announce the appointment of The Very Reverend Michael W. Hawkins, Dean of Saskatchewan and Rector of St. Alban’s Cathedral, Prince Albert, and Mr. Arran Thorpe of Dartmouth, a theological student of the Diocese of Nova Scotia & P.E.I., as members of the national Financial Management and Development Committee, effective immediately.

Both Michael Hawkins and Arran Thorpe have demonstrated keen interest in financial development, including stewardship education and gift planning, and have particularly expressed support for the Church’s Letting Down the Nets initiative.

They replace Archdeacon Michael Pollesel, who is now General Secretary and ex officio a member of the committee, and Bishop David Torraville, recently installed as Bishop of Central Newfoundland, who is devoting full attention to his new ministry.

Michael Hawkins earned his bachelor of arts degree at King’s College/Dalhousie University and master of divinity degree from Trinity College, Toronto. He served in parishes in the Diocese of Nova Scotia and P.E.I. for 13 years before moving to Prince Albert four years ago.

Arran Thorpe received a bachelor of arts degree in international studies at St. Mary’s University, Halifax. He is now a postulant for holy orders, studying at the Atlantic School of Theology. Mr. Thorpe was a member of the 2004 General Synod. At age 27 he will be the youngest person ever appointed to this national committee.

For more information please contact:
Archdeacon John Robertson
National Gift Planning Consultant
Office of Financial Development
Telephone 416.924.9199 ext.268
E-mail:[email protected]

Interested in keeping up-to-date on news, opinion, events and resources from the Anglican Church of Canada? Sign up for our email alerts .