New CCC board has Anglican faces

Communiqué from the Canadian Council of Churches:

For Immediate Release

TORONTO, ONTARIO – The Reverend Doctor James T. Christie has been elected President of The Canadian Council of Churches for the 2006-2009 triennium.

Doctor Christie, currently the Dean of the Faculty of Theology of the University of Winnipeg and Dean of the University’s Global College, is a United Church of Canada minister with a doctorate in inter-faith dialogue and extensive and long-standing experience in Ecumenism and Global Governance. He is bilingual, English/French, has held numerous leadership positions in Church and Academia and is the current Chair of the World Federalist Movement internationally. He is published in numerous media, including the Ottawa Citizen and has just completed a three-year term as a Vice President of the CCC.

Doctor Christie’s denomination, The United Church of Canada, is one of the twenty denominations which belong to The Canadian Council of Churches. The CCC is one of the broadest ecumenical councils in the world with its representation from the Anglican, Protestant (including the UCC), Roman Catholic and Eastern and Oriental Orthodox traditions, a total representation of approximately 85% of the Christians in Canada. The CCC fosters dialogue amongst its members and is involved in key ecumenical initiatives in the areas of peace and justice and faith and witness including an up-coming ecumenical youth festival and major participation in the 2006 international Aids conference to be held in Toronto.

Elected as Vice Presidents of The Canadian Council of Churches are:

  • The Rev. Paul Johnson, Assistant for Ecumenical Relations to the National Bishop of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada, Winnipeg
  • The Very Rev. Dr. Marion Pardy, Past Moderator of The United Church of Canada, 2000-2003. Residing in Newfoundland.
  • The Rev. Canon Pierre Voyer, Anglican parish priest of the Parish of Tous les Saints, Quebec City

Elected for a second term as CCC Treasurer was Don Taylor former chief financial officer and Treasurer for the Presbyterian Church in Canada.

Newly-elected youth members of the Council’s Governing Board are:

  • Gillian Girodat delegated by the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops, a reporter and producer with Salt and Light Television.
  • Very Rev. Hayrik Hovhannisyan, parish pastor of St. Vartan Armenian Orthodox Church.
  • Natasha Klukach of the Anglican Church of Canada and a doctoral student in theology.

For More Information or to arrange an interview, please contact The Rev. Dr. Karen Hamilton, General Secretary of The Canadian Council of Churches, 416-972-9494 ext.22 or

47 Queen’s Park Crescent East, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5S 2C3 
Tel: 416-972-9494   –  Fax: 416-927-0405   –  Toll Free: 1-866-822-7645
E-mail :  –  Website :

Interested in keeping up-to-date on news, opinion, events and resources from the Anglican Church of Canada? Sign up for our email alerts .