The Council of Anglican Provinces of Africa(CAPA) is an instrument of Anglican Communion in Africa. It was established in 1979 in Chilema, Malawi, to coordinate and articulate issues affecting the Church and communities across the region. The Council operates in 12 Anglican Provinces namely; Burundi, Central Africa – (Botswana, Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe), Congo, Indian Ocean (Madagascar, Seychelles and Mauritius), Kenya, Nigeria, Rwanda, Southern Africa (Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa Swaziland), Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda West Africa (Ghana, Cameroon, Togo, Sierra Leone and Liberia), plus the Diocese of Egypt, in 25 African countries where the Church has its presence.

CAPA’s strategic program priorities include Peace and Nation Building, Economic Empowerment, Church Life Intra and Interfaith Relations, Environmental Stewardship and Food Security, and Emerging Issues: Safe Migration and Human Trafficking. Global Relations supports CAPA’s program to eradicate human trafficking, modern slavery, and enforced migration on the African continent.

CAPA reaches out to individuals, communities and groups through her over 40 million dedicated Church members in different communities in Africa. CAPA has a secretariat headed by a General Secretary located in Nairobi Kenya.