Report on the proposed Anglican Covenant, June 2011

The Planning and Agenda Team for the Council of General Synod was asked by the Council to coordinate the work of the Strategic Planning Process Group, the Governance Working Group and the Task Force on the Role of the Primacy.

An advertisement asking for volunteers for each of these committees was placed in the January 2008 issue of the Anglican Journal. From the many responses received the General Secretary, in consultation with the Deputy Prolocutor, appointed members to each committee.

The Governance Working Group is to review the governance of General Synod with a view to enhancing the work and mission of General Synod.


Member Ecclesiastical Province
Ms. Cynthia Haines-Turner, Prolocutor Canada
Canon David Jones, Chancellor Rupert’s Land
The Ven. Dr. Lynne McNaughton, Deputy Prolocutor British Columbia and Yukon


The Planning and Agenda Team, the Task Force on the Role of the Primacy, the Strategic Planning Process Group and Governance Working Group will meet simultaneously the week of March 10 – 14, 2008 in Toronto. There will be opportunities during the week for all groups to meet and worship together. It is hoped that this pattern of meeting together will continue throughout the triennium.